Legal action over energy efficiency

Thursday 26 March the European Commission agreed on its monthly infringement package, taking legal action against 27 Member States over failures to transpose Europe’s energy efficiency directive in national law. The only Member State excluded from legal action is Malta.

Hungary, Greece and Bulgaria had not transposed the directive at all, but only Hungary was referred to the European Court of Justice directly. Other countries have not fully transposed the directive.

The Energy Union strategy presented by the Commission earlier this month already called for full implementation and enforcement of existing rules.

Read more here.

You may also like...